Day 26

Fasting phase, morning: I did wake up feeling hungry but it also still feels good to wait and just have some herbal tea. Maybe it’s some kind of bullshit ‘cleansing’ feeling, not sure, but it’s nice.

11:00 – Espresso time. Also took a break to find out more about how fasting can help brain function and read a bit of this: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3106288/?tool=pubmed – which, although is tested in mice for fasts of 24 or 48 hours, discusses how fasting increases autophagy, which they liken to a sort of cell ‘cleansing’.

Feeding phase: Broke the fast around 12:30pm with a nice omelette with cherry tomatoes. It’s not quite enough but I’m feeling very lacking in creativity around what to eat today. I’ll probably go for the usual fruit and yoghurt option to complete the meal.

22:20: Didn’t really get into the mood for cooking at all so threw together some sauteed mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, bulgar wheat and pesto with extra pine nuts. Had yoghurt & nuts then later on to fill the gap – brazilnuts and pecan nuts, yummy. Finished off with a nice bit of dark chocolate, which I’m currently slowly devouring. So I’m late entering the fast stage but it doesn’t need to be an exact time anyway.

Fasting phase, evening: Off to bed, I’m trashed! Roll on Easter weekend… maybe I’ll just not set my alarm for tomorrow.

Overall, I was hungry today. There, I said it. I was hungry and I wanted to eat everything. I held back though, did some exercise and indulged in some stuff without going over my target. Yay me and all that. It was hard to snack today without eating loads of carbs or just going for the Greek yoghurt every time. I need to think more about snacks and prepare some higher protein, lower carb ones.

Stats: 1960 calories, 162g carbs, 108g fat, 84g protein. Activity level: Moderate.

Leave a Reply

